Introduction

In order to help parents bridging the intergeneration gaps in their family, Oasis Family Life Enrichment Centre has published a bilingual book entitled "Family Altar" book I as a guide for parents to conduct the family altar in their respective home. It aims at facilitating family members to explore and affirm their faith in Christ as well as to share their insights and life experiences with one another during the time of family altar. If it is used appropriately as a tool book, the family altar, will not only be a time to serve and worship the Lord as a household it will also enhance the cohesiveness among family members.

We therefore would appreciate it very much if you could organize with us a seminar on "Parenting the adolescents and how to initiate and sustain the family altar" in your church for the parents of your Sunday school’s children especially those who have adolescent children. If you are interested, please call Mrs. Karen Ngoi at 62747480 for arrangement.

"Build an altar ... for me ... wherever I cause my name to be honored, I will come to you and bless you." (Ex.20:24)

Foreword

As I reflect on the ministry I have involved in various churches during the past 25 years, I discovered that about 70% of the church members did not get involved in any other church ministries besides attending the church service. Majority of them might have thought that church should be run by those who are extraverted. Some others might have felt that they have been overloaded by their own responsibilities and have no spiritual gifts to offer. Thus they chose to remain passive in the church.

Actually every believer is a member of the body of Christ, "Just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function.Let him use it in proportion to his faith." (Rom.12:4 & 6) For the health of the church every member should be equipped for the works of service, so that "the body of Christ may be built up until we all reach unity in the faith and in the knowledge of the Son of God and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ." (Eph.4:12-13).

Establishing family altar is a means to mobilize believers, especially the fathers to be involved in nurturing the life of the family members and promote Christian family life ministry. It's because family is the basic ministry of all believers. That is why the Scripture says, "If anyone does not know how to manage his own family, how can he take care of God's church?" (1 Tim. 3:5).

Mobilizing believers to be responsible first for spiritual nurture of their respective family members, is actually a practical strategy to improve the quality of church leadership. The behaviors in the family usually are transparent as the persons concerned may expose their spiritual qualities without feeling of being observed or in an environment they can express naturally. If a couple were to perform the duties of Christian husband and father or a Christian wife and mother they might have testified the example of Christ through the roles they played. It is so that their families may be filled with grace and visible truth to shape their children's spirituality unconsciously till they attain a more Christ like character and Christian lifestyle.

The Book I of the Guide for the Spiritual Sharing comprises six themes with 42 topics mainly derived from Rick Warren's "The Purpose Driven Life." It is meant for exploring the spiritual conditions of the individual family members during their family Altar's time. Hopefully this will affirm their salvation and improve their attitudes towards Christian living.

When a family meets for the Family Altar's time, the father who is the leader of the family may designate a family member or one of his children to lead the praise and worship session. The Apostle's Creed may be recited to affirm the faith of the family. The father or a designated person may then say an opening prayer before the family members read the Scripture verse of the lesson one at a time together. Then every participant may share in accordance with the questions followed by the verse. This may help family members to reflect on the purpose of their existence and their thought or understanding of faith. The conclusion for each session may become the focus of their sharing and the leader should emphasize on the application to their daily living.

After their spiritual reflections, each of the participants may report their walks with the Lord in the past week including the encounters of God's blessings and in trying moments. This may open themselves for thanksgivings and prayers together as a family. Obviously, family altar is a time for family to worship God and share with one another. This may enhance the vertical and horizontal relationship hand in hand so that the love which manifested on the cross may fill in the family life. In the mean time the family may experience God responding to their united prayer which help them achieve more than all they ask and imagine. This may enable children to experience the faithful God and strengthen their faith in Him. So that faith may be passed down from generation to generation.

Finally I would like to acknowledge the excellent editorial work and translation done by Mrs. Ter Khew Kah Leng, Ms. Yu Dong and Mr. Benjamin Tng and my family members who have contributed in the design, lay out, proof read, comments and even trying out the materials in our family altar's time. With the help of the materials our weekly family altar's time has bridged the inter-generation gap, experienced cohesiveness among family members and the presence of God in our home.

It is highly recommended to the families which have children above the age of nine.

Rev. Dr. Francis Ngoi.
27th Sept. 2005

Contents

Theme I: The Meaning of Our Existence
1-1 God creates all things
1-2 God knows our existence
1-3 Ultimate goal of our lives
1-4 Our eternal hope
1-5 Looking beyond yourself
1-6 Life is a short-term Assignment
1-7 Christ makes everything memorable

Theme II: Living for God's Pleasure
2-1 Glorifying God
2-2 Obeying God
2-3 Trusting God
2-4 Waiting upon God
2-5 Seeking God's will
2-6 Worshiping God
2-7 Suffering for God

Theme III: Living for God's Family
3-1 Becoming children of God
3-2 Loving one another
3-3 Belonging to one another
3-4 Forgiving one another
3-5 Sharing with one another
3-6 Being in harmony
3-7 Respecting one another
             Theme IV: Living for Christ Likeness
4-1 Emulating Christ
4-2 Growing towards maturity
4-3 Practising God's Word
4-4 Having Perserverence
4-5 Having Self-control
4-6 Being Truthful
4-7 Focusing only on Jesus

Theme V: Living for God's Service
5-1 Being prepared to serve
5-2 Serving according to our gifts
5-3 Serving with a grateful heart
5-4 Being a good steward
5-5 Being faithful to his calling
5-6 Serving with devoted heart
5-7 Serving with humility

Theme VI: Living for God's Commission
6-1 Reconciling man to God
6-2 Testifying Christian lifestyle
6-3 Preaching the good news
6-4 Be a blessing to one another
6-5 Reaching Out to the Lost
6-6 Love as Christ loved Us
6-7 Living with Focus
   

Interested? Click Here To Purchase.

简介

绿洲家庭生活教育中心为了辅助许多面对代沟困扰的父母,特别编写了家庭祭坛第一册,作为家长主持家庭祭坛实用的双语(中英对照)工具书,其内容乃是引导家庭成员有次序地探讨与确定对基督信仰的意识,并且促使家庭成员自由分享自己的理念和生活经历。如能恰当的使用这本工具书,家庭祭坛不但可成为家人一起敬拜侍奉神的时刻,也将会强化家庭的凝聚力并蒙神祝福。

为了积极鼓励大家善用此书,本中心愿意与各堂会主日学在各堂会合办"作个称职的少年人的父母和如何设立和维持家庭祭坛"讲座会,提供给主日学学生,尤其是少年人的家长参加。若有兴趣,请拨电给绿洲家庭生活教育中心62747480与魏师母作个别安排。

你要为我筑土坛 ... 凡记下我名的地方,我必到那里赐福给你 。 (出: 20:24)

序言

经过二十五年在不同的教会牧养的事工上观察和检讨目前的教会状况,发觉有70%的信徒除了参加主日聚会之外,对教会的任何职分都不愿 参与。由于多数的信徒觉得教会乃是留给那些性格外向的信徒负责,也有些觉得他们自己的工作和家庭职务已使他们透不过气了,同时也没有什么恩赐可以献给教会,因此,对教会的事奉总是不能积极参与。

其实,每个信徒乃是基督耶稣的肢体,"正如我们一个身子上有好些肢体,肢体也不都是 一样的用处,。。。按我们所得的恩赐,各有不同。"(罗12:4,6)。为了使教会更健全,信徒们都应该积极接受装备,促使大家"各尽其职,建立基督身体,直等到我们众人在真道上,同归于一,认识神的儿子,得以长大成人,满有基督长成的身量。"(弗4:12-13)。

设立家庭祭坛乃是动员信徒,尤其是弟兄,积极参与培育家人灵命和促进基督化家庭生活的事工。因家庭事工乃是每个信徒最基本的事奉,所以圣经说:"人若不知道管理自己的家,焉能照管神的教会呢?"(提前3:5)。

激发信徒先各自在自己家里负起培育家人的灵命,乃是促进教会领导层的素质,最实际的策略。家庭里的表现,往往是透明的,因为当事人乃是在不被监视或自然的环境里,表现他属灵生命的素质。如果一对夫妻能在家庭生活中执行神所托付的职分,即作个基督化的丈夫和父亲,或妻子和母亲,他们就有可能在他们的职分上 彰显主的榜样,而为主作见证,他们的家也就充满着恩典和真理,以致使孩子们在潜移默化的过程中建立更完美的基督化人格和生活方式。

灵粮分享指引的第一册,共有四十二个话题,主要的是参考 Rick Warren 的"标杆人生"所提供的话题,来让家人在家庭祭坛的时间里,探讨他们的属灵状况,并确定家人的救恩,和作基督徒应有的心态。

每逢进行家庭祭坛时,家里的属灵领袖,即父亲,可以安排儿女或其他的成员,带领一段以诗歌赞美敬拜的时间,接着 家人可同诵使徒信经并唱三一颂。 由 主席或被指定的人带领祷告之后,便邀请大家共同诵读小册子里所提供的经文,并请每一位成员分享经文之后的话题,目的乃是促进家人能按着神的话语反省自己存在的目标和属灵的意识。每个话题的结论将成为聚会分享的焦点,主持人应强调如何把它应用在每个成员生活上。

家人作完属灵的反省后,各自继续分享自己一周来与主同行的经历,包括蒙恩的事件和遇到的困境,好让家人同心合意为所分享的项目祷告和谢恩。由此可见,家庭祭坛乃是家庭共同敬拜上帝和交流的时间,促进家人垂直和水平线相辅相成的关系,好让十字架所彰显的爱充满了整个家庭的生活里。同时,家人也时常会经历到神垂听他们同心合意的祷告,成就了许多超过他们所求所想的。这也将促进孩子们亲自体会到信实的神,建立了他们的信心。以达致代代相传对信实的神的信仰。

最后,我应谢谢 Khew Kah Leng 姐妹,Yu Dong 姐妹,Benjamin Tng 弟兄协助修饰语文,翻译,和我的家人在编辑,校对,设计和试用等所作出的贡献。透过这材料,家庭祭坛破除了代沟问题,强化家庭成员的凝聚力,和经历神的同在。因此我诚恳鼓励凡是有超过九岁孩子的家庭应采用这本资料来提升家庭祭坛的意义。

魏义发牧师,
2005年9月27日。

目录

主题一 : 人生存在世上的意义
1-1 神创造万物
1-2 神知道我们的存在
1-3 我们生命最终的目标
1-4 为我们永恒的希望
1-5 看破自己
1-6 生命只是个短暂的任务
1-7 基督使一切满有意义

主题二 : 为了讨神的喜悦而活
2-1 荣耀神
2-2 顺服神
2-3 信靠神
2-4 等候神
2-5 寻求神的旨意
2-6 敬拜神
2-7 为神而受苦

主题三 : 为神的家而活
3-1 成为神的儿女
3-2 彼此相爱
3-3 彼此有归属感
3-4 彼此宽恕
3-5 彼此分享
3-6 和睦共处
3-7 彼此尊重

           主题四 : 为了效法耶稣而活
4-1 效法基督
4-2 迈向完全而成长
4-3 遵行神的话
4-4 拥有忍耐
4-5 拥有节制
4-6 真诚的心
4-7 专心仰望耶稣

主题五 : 为服侍神而活
5-1 以等待的心志服侍
5-2 凭着恩赐而服侍
5-3 以感恩的心服侍
5-4 作个好管家
5-5 忠于神的呼照
5-6 热诚地服侍
5-7 谦卑的服侍

主题六 : 为神的差遣而活
6-1 使人与神和好
6-2 分享生命见证
6-3 宣讲福音
6-4 成为互相祝福
6-5 向迷失者伸出援手
6-6 以基督的爱彼此相爱
6-7 具有焦点的生活